Resources
Bail Agent Continuing Education Requirements by State
Pre-licensing hours, continuing education hours and renewal cycles for bail agents in all 50 states and D.C. Filter by state or requirement, then confirm with the official regulator linked in each row.
51
Jurisdictions covered
42
License commercial bail agents
26
Set bail CE hours
Approximate figures — verify before relying on them
Hours, renewal cycles and topics shown here are approximate summaries compiled from public sources and may be incomplete, outdated or simplified. Requirements change often and can differ by license type, county or individual circumstances. Always confirm current rules with your state regulator before enrolling in courses or renewing a license. This is general information, not legal advice.
Requirements by state
51 jurisdictions · Approximate — confirm with regulator
| State | Pre-license | Continuing ed. | Renewal | Details | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 16 hrs | 8 hrsannually | 1 year | The initial 16-hour course counts in place of regular CE during the first licensing cycle. Reduced hours or exemptions apply to some older, long-licensed agents. | Alabama Professional Bail Bonding Board(opens in a new tab) |
| Alaska | Not specified | Nonenot required for a bail-only limited lines license | 2 years | Bail is a limited line, so general producer CE does not apply when it is the only license held. An exam is required; mandatory pre-licensing hours were not verified. Confirm with regulator | Alaska Division of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| Arizona | Not specified | Nonenot required | — | DIFI expressly exempts bail bond agents from insurance CE. Resident applicants generally must pass an exam; pre-licensing hours and the renewal term were not verified. Confirm with regulator | Arizona Dept. of Insurance and Financial Institutions(opens in a new tab) |
| Arkansas | Not specified | 6 hrsannually | 1 year | Board-approved bail bond CE Licenses expire December 31; companies should submit renewal packets by December 1. The beginning-education hour total was not verified. Confirm with regulator | Arkansas Professional Bail Bond Licensing Board(opens in a new tab) |
| California | 20 hrs | 12 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | Approved classroom study related to bail licensee duties Applicants also need a 40-hour POST-certified power of arrest course certificate. Late renewals are not allowed, and bail fugitive recovery persons are licensed separately. | California Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| Colorado | Not specified | 24 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | 3 hrs ethics, 18 hrs licensed lines, 3 discretionary Bail agents hold a casualty producer license and must also complete 8 hours of bail bonding instruction and 16 hours of recovery training before appointment. Confirm with regulator | Colorado Division of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| Connecticut | 25 hrs | Nonenot required for surety bail bond agents | 2 years | Figures apply to insurance-backed surety bail bond agents, whose licenses expire January 31 of even years. Professional bondsmen are licensed separately by State Police and renew annually. | Connecticut Insurance Department, Bail Bonds Unit(opens in a new tab) |
| Delaware | Not specified | Not specified | 2 years | Bail agents renew under the insurance producer framework, but bail-specific CE and pre-licensing hours were not confirmed. Bail enforcement training is a separate license. Confirm with regulator | Delaware Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| District of ColumbiaNo commercial bail | — | — | — | Commercial surety bail is effectively absent; the District relies on non-financial release and court supervision. Confirm with regulator | Pretrial Services Agency(opens in a new tab) |
| Florida | 120 hrs | 14 hrsevery 2 years | — | 4 hrs bail law and ethics update, 10 hrs electives The 120-hour basic certification course comes with a correspondence course and a supervised temporary license period. | Florida Dept. of Financial Services(opens in a new tab) |
| Georgia | Not specified | 8 hrsannually | — | Association-approved CE File the annual 8-hour certificate by January 31 in every jurisdiction where you write. Local approval rules also apply. Confirm with regulator | County sheriffs; CE approved by the Georgia Association of Professional Bondsmen(opens in a new tab) |
| Hawaii | Not specified | 24 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | 3 hrs ethics or insurance law; rest in licensed lines Bail agents are insurance producers appointed by a surety insurer, not holders of a separate bail license. Confirm with regulator | Hawaii Insurance Division(opens in a new tab) |
| Idaho | Not specified | 24 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | At least 3 hrs ethics Resident bail agents must finish CE before renewing and submit fingerprints at each renewal. Confirm with regulator | Idaho Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| IllinoisNo commercial bail | — | — | — | Illinois ended commercial bail decades ago and abolished cash bail on September 18, 2023. | Illinois courts(opens in a new tab) |
| Indiana | 12 hrs | 6 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | Approved bail/recovery or professional development courses Bail and recovery agent applicants both take the 12-hour course and exam. Licenses expire at the end of the month of issue. | Indiana Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| Iowa | Not specified | Nonenot required for surety-only producers | — | Resident surety producers are exempt from insurance CE. Bail enforcement is regulated separately by Public Safety. Confirm with regulator | Iowa Insurance Division(opens in a new tab) |
| Kansas | Not specified | 8 hrsevery 12 months | 2 years (producer license) | Approved compensated-surety CE The 8-hour rule applies to compensated sureties through judicial-district authorization, separate from regular producer CE. | Kansas Insurance Department; judicial district chief judges(opens in a new tab) |
| KentuckyNo commercial bail | — | — | — | Kentucky prohibits operating as a bail bondsman for profit. | Kentucky courts(opens in a new tab) |
| Louisiana | 8 hrs | 12 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | 12 bail-specific hrs, including 6 hrs bail enforcement The 8 hours are part of a required apprenticeship of three months' paid work at 24+ hours a week (R.S. 22:1574). | Louisiana Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| MaineNo commercial bail | — | — | — | Maine uses court-appointed bail commissioners instead of licensed commercial bail agents. Confirm with regulator | Maine Judicial Branch (bail commissioners)(opens in a new tab) |
| Maryland | None | 24 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | 3 hrs ethics and 4 hrs bail bond within the total Applies to producers writing surety bail. Maryland no longer requires a pre-licensing course; court-authorized property bondsmen follow separate rules. | Maryland Insurance Administration(opens in a new tab) |
| MassachusettsLimited commercial bail | — | — | — | Professional bondsmen register with the Superior Court; the rule sets asset requirements but no education hours. Confirm with regulator | Massachusetts Superior Court(opens in a new tab) |
| Michigan | Not specified | Not specifieddepends on license route | — | Full P&C: 24 hrs incl. 3 ethics every 2 years; limited lines P&C exempt There is no standalone bail license. Hours depend on whether you qualify through surety, limited lines or full property and casualty authority. | Michigan DIFS; local courts approve bondsmen(opens in a new tab) |
| Minnesota | None | Nonenot required for bail-only authority | — | The bail bonds license is exempt from the producer exam and CE. Agents still need court approval, agency affiliation and a surety appointment. | Minnesota Dept. of Commerce; State Court Administrator(opens in a new tab) |
| Mississippi | 40 hrs | 16 hrs8 hrs per year of the 2-year term | 2 years | Approved bail agent CE The first year of an original license is exempt from CE. | Mississippi Insurance Department(opens in a new tab) |
| Missouri | 24 hrs | 8 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | Approved bail bond CE (20 CSR 700-6.160) New agents complete basic training and pass the exam. Regular agents also need a supervising general agent's signature. | Missouri Dept. of Commerce and Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| Montana | 16 hrs | 5 hrsevery 2 years | — | 1 hr legal updates, 4 hrs bail industry topics Current law replaced older training figures still seen in some summaries. A supervised temporary license may be available during training. | Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| NebraskaNo commercial bail | — | — | — | Release runs through recognizance and court-held deposits rather than licensed commercial bail agents. Confirm with regulator | Nebraska courts(opens in a new tab) |
| Nevada | 6 hrs | 3 hrsper renewal | 3 years | Commissioner-approved bail CE The 6-hour course covers bail agents and solicitors; bail enforcement agents have a separate, longer training path. | Nevada Division of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| New Hampshire | Not specified | Not specified | — | Bondsman registration moved to OPLC in July 2023, which says there are currently no profession-specific rules. Confirm with regulator | NH Office of Professional Licensure and Certification(opens in a new tab) |
| New JerseyLimited commercial bail | — | — | 2 years | Criminal justice reform sharply reduced money bail, but a limited lines bail producer license still exists. | NJ Dept. of Banking and Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| New Mexico | 10 hrs | 14 hrsevery 2 years | — | Bail licensing law and rules, incl. 3 hrs ethics New agents also complete 30 hours of supervised on-the-job training. The CE rule took effect April 1, 2025; confirm the renewal cycle with OSI. | NM Office of Superintendent of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| New York | Not specified | Not specified | 1 year | DFS requires the bail agent exam and annual renewal with a calendar-year bond; its guidance does not list classroom or CE hours. Confirm with regulator | NY Department of Financial Services(opens in a new tab) |
| North Carolina | 12 hrs | 3 hrsannually (July 1–June 30) | 2 years | Bondsman or runner duties CE is annual even though licenses renew in even years. Agents 65+ with 15 years licensed may qualify for an exemption. | NC Department of Insurance, Bail Bond Regulatory Division(opens in a new tab) |
| North Dakota | None | Nonenot required for bail-only authority | 2 years | Applicants must pass the bail exam; no classroom study is required. Holding other major lines can trigger separate CE. | North Dakota Insurance Department(opens in a new tab) |
| Ohio | 20 hrs | 7 hrsannually | 1 year | 6 hrs surety bail bond, 1 hr ethics Applies to residents holding only a surety bail bond license; other insurance lines add separate CE. | Ohio Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| Oklahoma | 16 hrs | 16 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | Bondsman duties, laws and regulations Current statutes require 16 hours every two years, though an older department page still says 8 hours a year. Agents 65+ with 15 years licensed are exempt. | Oklahoma Insurance Department, Bail Bond Division(opens in a new tab) |
| OregonNo commercial bail | — | — | — | Oregon has no commercial bail system; security release is handled by the courts. Confirm with regulator | Oregon courts(opens in a new tab) |
| Pennsylvania | None | 24 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | Bondsmen hold a producer license and file documents in each county where they work. Act 142 of 2024 removed pre-exam education. | Pennsylvania Insurance Department; county courts(opens in a new tab) |
| Rhode Island | Not specified | Not specified | — | Professional bondspersons are approved and registered through the Superior Court; education hours were not specified. Confirm with regulator | Rhode Island Superior Court(opens in a new tab) |
| South Carolina | 30 hrs | 8 hrsannually | 1 year | Bondsman or runner duties Surety bondsmen also meet the 24-hour biennial producer CE. Agents 60+ with 20 years licensed are exempt from bail CE. | South Carolina Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| South Dakota | Not specified | Not specified | 1 year | Applicants must pass the bail exam; licenses expire May 1 each year. Education hours are not stated. Confirm with regulator | South Dakota Division of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
| Tennessee | Not specified | 8 hrsannually | — | Approved bail bonding education State board licensing became mandatory March 1, 2026, on top of local court approval. Bounty hunters have separate subject rules. Confirm with regulator | TN Board of Professional Bondsmen; local courts(opens in a new tab) |
| Texas | 8 hrs | Not specified | 2 years (3 for eligible experienced licensees) | Applicants need 8 hours of State Bar-approved criminal or bail law courses within two years before applying. Ask your county board about renewal education. Confirm with regulator | County bail bond boards (Occupations Code Ch. 1704)(opens in a new tab) |
| Utah | Not specified | Nonenot required | 2 years (agencies 1 year) | Utah eliminated bail bond producer CE in 2012. Bail recovery licensing is separate. Confirm with regulator | Utah Insurance Department(opens in a new tab) |
| Vermont | None | Nonenot required | 2 years | Requires a written exam, insurer appointment and Court Administrator approval. Licenses expire March 31 of odd years. Confirm with regulator | Vermont Dept. of Financial Regulation; Court Administrator(opens in a new tab) |
| Virginia | 40 hrs | 8 hrsper renewal, in the final 12 months | 2 years | 2 hrs legal authority, 6 hrs job-related Surety bondsmen also need Bureau of Insurance licensing. Firearms endorsements add training. | Virginia Dept. of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS)(opens in a new tab) |
| Washington | 12 hrs | 4 hrsannually | 1 year | Courts, law, ethics, defendant transport and related topics Pre-license training is 8 hours of instruction plus 4 hours of legal study. The exam can be waived for qualifying training or experience. | Washington State Department of Licensing(opens in a new tab) |
| West Virginia | Not specified | Not specified | 2 years | Professional and insurer-backed bondsmen follow different paths; surety bondsmen also need property and casualty authority. Confirm with regulator | West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner(opens in a new tab) |
| WisconsinNo commercial bail | — | — | — | Wisconsin bars being paid to act as a bail surety. | Wisconsin courts(opens in a new tab) |
| Wyoming | None | 24 hrsevery 2 years | 2 years | 3 hrs ethics within the total Agents writing insurer-backed bail hold a casualty producer license. No pre-licensing course is required. | Wyoming Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab) |
Alabama
- Pre-license
- 16 hrs
- CE
- 8 hrs
- Renewal
- 1 year
The initial 16-hour course counts in place of regular CE during the first licensing cycle. Reduced hours or exemptions apply to some older, long-licensed agents.
Alabama Professional Bail Bonding Board(opens in a new tab)Alaska
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- None
- Renewal
- 2 years
Bail is a limited line, so general producer CE does not apply when it is the only license held. An exam is required; mandatory pre-licensing hours were not verified.
Confirm with regulator
Alaska Division of Insurance(opens in a new tab)Arizona
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- None
- Renewal
- —
DIFI expressly exempts bail bond agents from insurance CE. Resident applicants generally must pass an exam; pre-licensing hours and the renewal term were not verified.
Confirm with regulator
Arizona Dept. of Insurance and Financial Institutions(opens in a new tab)Arkansas
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- 6 hrs
- Renewal
- 1 year
Board-approved bail bond CE
Licenses expire December 31; companies should submit renewal packets by December 1. The beginning-education hour total was not verified.
Confirm with regulator
Arkansas Professional Bail Bond Licensing Board(opens in a new tab)California
- Pre-license
- 20 hrs
- CE
- 12 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
Approved classroom study related to bail licensee duties
Applicants also need a 40-hour POST-certified power of arrest course certificate. Late renewals are not allowed, and bail fugitive recovery persons are licensed separately.
California Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab)Colorado
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- 24 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
3 hrs ethics, 18 hrs licensed lines, 3 discretionary
Bail agents hold a casualty producer license and must also complete 8 hours of bail bonding instruction and 16 hours of recovery training before appointment.
Confirm with regulator
Colorado Division of Insurance(opens in a new tab)Connecticut
- Pre-license
- 25 hrs
- CE
- None
- Renewal
- 2 years
Figures apply to insurance-backed surety bail bond agents, whose licenses expire January 31 of even years. Professional bondsmen are licensed separately by State Police and renew annually.
Connecticut Insurance Department, Bail Bonds Unit(opens in a new tab)Delaware
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- Not specified
- Renewal
- 2 years
Bail agents renew under the insurance producer framework, but bail-specific CE and pre-licensing hours were not confirmed. Bail enforcement training is a separate license.
Confirm with regulator
Delaware Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab)District of Columbia
No commercial bail
Commercial surety bail is effectively absent; the District relies on non-financial release and court supervision.
Confirm with regulator
Pretrial Services Agency(opens in a new tab)Florida
- Pre-license
- 120 hrs
- CE
- 14 hrs
- Renewal
- —
4 hrs bail law and ethics update, 10 hrs electives
The 120-hour basic certification course comes with a correspondence course and a supervised temporary license period.
Florida Dept. of Financial Services(opens in a new tab)Georgia
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- 8 hrs
- Renewal
- —
Association-approved CE
File the annual 8-hour certificate by January 31 in every jurisdiction where you write. Local approval rules also apply.
Confirm with regulator
County sheriffs; CE approved by the Georgia Association of Professional Bondsmen(opens in a new tab)Hawaii
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- 24 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
3 hrs ethics or insurance law; rest in licensed lines
Bail agents are insurance producers appointed by a surety insurer, not holders of a separate bail license.
Confirm with regulator
Hawaii Insurance Division(opens in a new tab)Idaho
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- 24 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
At least 3 hrs ethics
Resident bail agents must finish CE before renewing and submit fingerprints at each renewal.
Confirm with regulator
Idaho Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab)Illinois
No commercial bail
Illinois ended commercial bail decades ago and abolished cash bail on September 18, 2023.
Illinois courts(opens in a new tab)Indiana
- Pre-license
- 12 hrs
- CE
- 6 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
Approved bail/recovery or professional development courses
Bail and recovery agent applicants both take the 12-hour course and exam. Licenses expire at the end of the month of issue.
Indiana Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab)Iowa
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- None
- Renewal
- —
Resident surety producers are exempt from insurance CE. Bail enforcement is regulated separately by Public Safety.
Confirm with regulator
Iowa Insurance Division(opens in a new tab)Kansas
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- 8 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years (producer license)
Approved compensated-surety CE
The 8-hour rule applies to compensated sureties through judicial-district authorization, separate from regular producer CE.
Kansas Insurance Department; judicial district chief judges(opens in a new tab)Kentucky
No commercial bail
Kentucky prohibits operating as a bail bondsman for profit.
Kentucky courts(opens in a new tab)Louisiana
- Pre-license
- 8 hrs
- CE
- 12 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
12 bail-specific hrs, including 6 hrs bail enforcement
The 8 hours are part of a required apprenticeship of three months' paid work at 24+ hours a week (R.S. 22:1574).
Louisiana Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab)Maine
No commercial bail
Maine uses court-appointed bail commissioners instead of licensed commercial bail agents.
Confirm with regulator
Maine Judicial Branch (bail commissioners)(opens in a new tab)Maryland
- Pre-license
- None
- CE
- 24 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
3 hrs ethics and 4 hrs bail bond within the total
Applies to producers writing surety bail. Maryland no longer requires a pre-licensing course; court-authorized property bondsmen follow separate rules.
Maryland Insurance Administration(opens in a new tab)Massachusetts
Limited commercial bail
Professional bondsmen register with the Superior Court; the rule sets asset requirements but no education hours.
Confirm with regulator
Massachusetts Superior Court(opens in a new tab)Michigan
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- Not specified
- Renewal
- —
Full P&C: 24 hrs incl. 3 ethics every 2 years; limited lines P&C exempt
There is no standalone bail license. Hours depend on whether you qualify through surety, limited lines or full property and casualty authority.
Michigan DIFS; local courts approve bondsmen(opens in a new tab)Minnesota
- Pre-license
- None
- CE
- None
- Renewal
- —
The bail bonds license is exempt from the producer exam and CE. Agents still need court approval, agency affiliation and a surety appointment.
Minnesota Dept. of Commerce; State Court Administrator(opens in a new tab)Mississippi
- Pre-license
- 40 hrs
- CE
- 16 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
Approved bail agent CE
The first year of an original license is exempt from CE.
Mississippi Insurance Department(opens in a new tab)Missouri
- Pre-license
- 24 hrs
- CE
- 8 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
Approved bail bond CE (20 CSR 700-6.160)
New agents complete basic training and pass the exam. Regular agents also need a supervising general agent's signature.
Missouri Dept. of Commerce and Insurance(opens in a new tab)Montana
- Pre-license
- 16 hrs
- CE
- 5 hrs
- Renewal
- —
1 hr legal updates, 4 hrs bail industry topics
Current law replaced older training figures still seen in some summaries. A supervised temporary license may be available during training.
Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance(opens in a new tab)Nebraska
No commercial bail
Release runs through recognizance and court-held deposits rather than licensed commercial bail agents.
Confirm with regulator
Nebraska courts(opens in a new tab)Nevada
- Pre-license
- 6 hrs
- CE
- 3 hrs
- Renewal
- 3 years
Commissioner-approved bail CE
The 6-hour course covers bail agents and solicitors; bail enforcement agents have a separate, longer training path.
Nevada Division of Insurance(opens in a new tab)New Hampshire
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- Not specified
- Renewal
- —
Bondsman registration moved to OPLC in July 2023, which says there are currently no profession-specific rules.
Confirm with regulator
NH Office of Professional Licensure and Certification(opens in a new tab)New Jersey
Limited commercial bail
Criminal justice reform sharply reduced money bail, but a limited lines bail producer license still exists.
NJ Dept. of Banking and Insurance(opens in a new tab)New Mexico
- Pre-license
- 10 hrs
- CE
- 14 hrs
- Renewal
- —
Bail licensing law and rules, incl. 3 hrs ethics
New agents also complete 30 hours of supervised on-the-job training. The CE rule took effect April 1, 2025; confirm the renewal cycle with OSI.
NM Office of Superintendent of Insurance(opens in a new tab)New York
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- Not specified
- Renewal
- 1 year
DFS requires the bail agent exam and annual renewal with a calendar-year bond; its guidance does not list classroom or CE hours.
Confirm with regulator
NY Department of Financial Services(opens in a new tab)North Carolina
- Pre-license
- 12 hrs
- CE
- 3 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
Bondsman or runner duties
CE is annual even though licenses renew in even years. Agents 65+ with 15 years licensed may qualify for an exemption.
NC Department of Insurance, Bail Bond Regulatory Division(opens in a new tab)North Dakota
- Pre-license
- None
- CE
- None
- Renewal
- 2 years
Applicants must pass the bail exam; no classroom study is required. Holding other major lines can trigger separate CE.
North Dakota Insurance Department(opens in a new tab)Ohio
- Pre-license
- 20 hrs
- CE
- 7 hrs
- Renewal
- 1 year
6 hrs surety bail bond, 1 hr ethics
Applies to residents holding only a surety bail bond license; other insurance lines add separate CE.
Ohio Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab)Oklahoma
- Pre-license
- 16 hrs
- CE
- 16 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
Bondsman duties, laws and regulations
Current statutes require 16 hours every two years, though an older department page still says 8 hours a year. Agents 65+ with 15 years licensed are exempt.
Oklahoma Insurance Department, Bail Bond Division(opens in a new tab)Oregon
No commercial bail
Oregon has no commercial bail system; security release is handled by the courts.
Confirm with regulator
Oregon courts(opens in a new tab)Pennsylvania
- Pre-license
- None
- CE
- 24 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
Bondsmen hold a producer license and file documents in each county where they work. Act 142 of 2024 removed pre-exam education.
Pennsylvania Insurance Department; county courts(opens in a new tab)Rhode Island
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- Not specified
- Renewal
- —
Professional bondspersons are approved and registered through the Superior Court; education hours were not specified.
Confirm with regulator
Rhode Island Superior Court(opens in a new tab)South Carolina
- Pre-license
- 30 hrs
- CE
- 8 hrs
- Renewal
- 1 year
Bondsman or runner duties
Surety bondsmen also meet the 24-hour biennial producer CE. Agents 60+ with 20 years licensed are exempt from bail CE.
South Carolina Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab)South Dakota
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- Not specified
- Renewal
- 1 year
Applicants must pass the bail exam; licenses expire May 1 each year. Education hours are not stated.
Confirm with regulator
South Dakota Division of Insurance(opens in a new tab)Tennessee
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- 8 hrs
- Renewal
- —
Approved bail bonding education
State board licensing became mandatory March 1, 2026, on top of local court approval. Bounty hunters have separate subject rules.
Confirm with regulator
TN Board of Professional Bondsmen; local courts(opens in a new tab)Texas
- Pre-license
- 8 hrs
- CE
- Not specified
- Renewal
- 2 years (3 for eligible experienced licensees)
Applicants need 8 hours of State Bar-approved criminal or bail law courses within two years before applying. Ask your county board about renewal education.
Confirm with regulator
County bail bond boards (Occupations Code Ch. 1704)(opens in a new tab)Utah
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- None
- Renewal
- 2 years (agencies 1 year)
Utah eliminated bail bond producer CE in 2012. Bail recovery licensing is separate.
Confirm with regulator
Utah Insurance Department(opens in a new tab)Vermont
- Pre-license
- None
- CE
- None
- Renewal
- 2 years
Requires a written exam, insurer appointment and Court Administrator approval. Licenses expire March 31 of odd years.
Confirm with regulator
Vermont Dept. of Financial Regulation; Court Administrator(opens in a new tab)Virginia
- Pre-license
- 40 hrs
- CE
- 8 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
2 hrs legal authority, 6 hrs job-related
Surety bondsmen also need Bureau of Insurance licensing. Firearms endorsements add training.
Virginia Dept. of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS)(opens in a new tab)Washington
- Pre-license
- 12 hrs
- CE
- 4 hrs
- Renewal
- 1 year
Courts, law, ethics, defendant transport and related topics
Pre-license training is 8 hours of instruction plus 4 hours of legal study. The exam can be waived for qualifying training or experience.
Washington State Department of Licensing(opens in a new tab)West Virginia
- Pre-license
- Not specified
- CE
- Not specified
- Renewal
- 2 years
Professional and insurer-backed bondsmen follow different paths; surety bondsmen also need property and casualty authority.
Confirm with regulator
West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner(opens in a new tab)Wisconsin
No commercial bail
Wisconsin bars being paid to act as a bail surety.
Wisconsin courts(opens in a new tab)Wyoming
- Pre-license
- None
- CE
- 24 hrs
- Renewal
- 2 years
3 hrs ethics within the total
Agents writing insurer-backed bail hold a casualty producer license. No pre-licensing course is required.
Wyoming Department of Insurance(opens in a new tab)
Common questions
Do all states require continuing education for bail agents?
No. Most states that license commercial bail agents require CE at each license renewal, but hours and topics differ, and a few license bail under general insurance lines with no bail-specific course. States that do not allow commercial bail have no bail agent license at all.
Where do I take approved bail CE courses?
Only courses approved by your licensing regulator count. Most insurance departments publish a list of approved providers or a course search; state bail associations also run approved classes and annual conferences that include CE credit.
What happens if I miss my CE deadline?
In most states an agent cannot renew, or the license lapses, until the hours are completed. Some regulators allow a late-completion period with a fee; others require reapplication. Check your regulator's rules well before your renewal date.
Do bail recovery agents need continuing education?
It depends on the state. Some states license recovery or enforcement agents separately with their own training and CE rules, some include them under the bail agent license, and some prohibit commercial recovery entirely.