Resources

Recovery Agent Licensing & Forfeiture Timelines by State

Which states require a separate license to apprehend a defendant, and how long a surety has after a missed court date. Filter by state, licensing rule or surrender period, then check the official source in each entry.

Legal disclaimer

This tool is general information, not legal advice, and does not create an attorney-client relationship. Figures are approximate summaries of complex statutes and court rules that change often and may be interpreted differently by local courts. Deadlines can depend on how notice is served, local rules, extensions and case-specific orders. Never rely on this page to calculate a deadline or to decide whether to apprehend anyone. Confirm every requirement with the statute, the court, your state regulator or a licensed attorney.

Apprehending a person without proper authority can lead to criminal charges and civil liability. Many states require licensing, training, notice to local police and limits on entry and force, and some prohibit commercial recovery entirely.

How a forfeiture typically unfolds

  1. 1

    Missed court date

    The court declares the bail forfeited and usually issues a bench warrant.

  2. 2

    Notice to surety

    The clerk mails notice of forfeiture to the surety and bail agent, often within a set number of days.

  3. 3

    Surrender window

    The surety has a fixed period to return the defendant or show good cause. Extensions may be available.

  4. 4

    Judgment

    If the period runs out, the court enters judgment and the surety must pay the bond amount.

  5. 5

    Remission

    Some states refund all or part of a paid forfeiture if the defendant is later returned.

Compare states

51 jurisdictions · Approximate — verify with official sources

  • Alabama

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Professional bail recovery agents need a Board-issued license and must carry it while working.

    Alabama Professional Bail Bonding Board. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    90 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Notice must be issued and served within 90 days. A written response is due within 30 days of service, and a contested final hearing can't be set sooner than 120 days after service.

    Ala. Code §§ 15-13-131 to 15-13-136 (Act 2023-309)(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Alaska

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate state recovery license was found. General criminal and civil law still applies.

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    A court form allows 30 days after the forfeiture judgment to seek to set it aside. A pre-judgment surrender period wasn't found.

    Alaska R. Crim. P. 41(h)(3)(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Arizona

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    Arizona doesn't issue recovery licenses, but recovery agents must be fingerprinted, meet criminal history rules and have written authorization, and the hiring agent must report their use within 24 hours.

    Arizona Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Forfeiture follows Criminal Rule 7.6. Current deadlines weren't confirmed.

    Ariz. R. Crim. P. 7.6(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Arkansas

    Bail license

    Recovery agents

    Paid apprehension is limited to authorized people, including licensed bail bondsmen and certain licensed investigators; there's no stand-alone bounty hunter license.

    Arkansas Professional Bail Bond Licensing Board. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    District courts allow 120 days from certified mailing to apprehend the defendant; circuit courts follow a different summons and hearing process.

    Ark. Code Ann. §§ 16-84-201, 16-84-207(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • California

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    A Bail Fugitive Recovery Agent license requires approved education, a 40-hour arrest powers course and liability insurance. Active bail agents have some exemptions.

    California Department of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    30 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    180 days

    For bonds over $400, notice must be mailed within 30 days, and mailing adds 5 days to the 180-day period. Tolling and extensions may apply.

    Cal. Penal Code §§ 1305, 1305.4, 1306(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Colorado

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    A current separate recovery license wasn't confirmed. The Division of Insurance regulates bail bonding agents.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Compensated surety forfeiture follows C.R.S. 16-4-114. Day counts weren't confirmed from current text.

    Colo. Rev. Stat. § 16-4-114

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Connecticut

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Bail Enforcement Agents are licensed, though licensed bondsmen and surety agents also have recovery authority. Agents must notify local police before an apprehension.

    Connecticut Dept. of Emergency Services and Public Protection. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Statutes provide a stay of forfeiture and a rebate of forfeited bonds; exact current periods weren't confirmed.

    Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 54-65, 54-65a(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Delaware

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Bail enforcement agents must be licensed under a dedicated chapter covering resident and nonresident agents.

    Delaware State Police; Board of Examiners of Bail Enforcement Agents. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Uniform notice and surrender periods weren't found.

    11 Del. C. ch. 21(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • District of Columbia

    No commercial bail

    Recovery agents

    D.C. uses a non-commercial pretrial release system, so commercial recovery doesn't apply in practice.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Florida

    Bail license

    Recovery agents

    Recovery generally requires a licensed, appointed bail agent; Florida bars anyone from calling themselves a bounty hunter or bail enforcement agent.

    Florida Department of Financial Services. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    5 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    60 days

    Notice is sent within 5 days, and payment is due within 60 days of notice.

    Remission: Section 903.28 governs remission; percentages and deadlines weren't confirmed here.

    Fla. Stat. §§ 903.26–903.28(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Georgia

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Recovery agents register with and are approved by county sheriffs rather than a statewide license; they must be 25+, U.S. citizens and hold a weapons license.

    County sheriffs. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    10 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    The clerk serves notice within 10 days, and the execution hearing is set 150–180 days after the failure to appear. Official text wasn't fully confirmed.

    O.C.G.A. §§ 17-6-71, 17-6-72

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Hawaii

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No dedicated state recovery license was found. Other licensing and arrest laws still apply.

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Judgment is entered on forfeiture; a good-cause motion must be filed within 30 days of notice, which delays execution.

    Remission: A timely good-cause motion can vacate the forfeiture and return the bond, less state costs.

    Haw. Rev. Stat. § 804-51(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Idaho

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate license, but recovery agents must meet qualifications, carry written authority and ID, and notify the sheriff before a planned apprehension (law effective until Jan. 1, 2027).

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    5 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    180 days

    Notice is due within 5 business days of the forfeiture order; the forfeiture can be set aside within 180 days.

    Idaho Code §§ 19-2915–19-2918(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Illinois

    No commercial bail

    Recovery agents

    Illinois has no commercial bail and has abolished money bail, so there's no recovery license.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

  • Indiana

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    A Recovery Agent license requires 12 hours of approved education and an exam.

    Indiana Department of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    30 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    365 days

    Notice must be mailed within 30 days of the failure to appear. Late surrender fees start 120 days after mailing.

    Ind. Code § 27-10-2-12

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Iowa

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Bail enforcement businesses are licensed under chapter 80A, and agents must notify and register with local police before an apprehension.

    Iowa Department of Public Safety. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    The surety gets 30 days' written notice to appear and show cause.

    Remission: Judgment can be set aside for a qualifying surrender within 150 days after judgment.

    Iowa Code § 811.6(opens in a new tab)

  • Kansas

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Independent bail enforcement agents must be licensed, and must notify local police and show the bond, ID and authorization before an apprehension.

    Kansas Attorney General. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    60 days

    Default judgment can't be entered until more than 60 days after notice is served.

    Remission: Mandatory remission is 90% if returned within 90 days of judgment, 75% for days 91–180, and 50% for days 181–270.

    Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-2807(opens in a new tab)

  • Kentucky

    No commercial bail

    Recovery agents

    Kentucky prohibits commercial bail bonding, so there is no commercial recovery agent license.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

  • Louisiana

    Bail license

    Recovery agents

    Bail enforcement agents must meet the same licensing and fee requirements as bail bond producers, unless regulations say otherwise.

    Louisiana Department of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    60 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    180 days

    Notice of the arrest warrant must go out within 60 days of the missed appearance or the surety is released. The 180-day surrender period runs from the certificate that notice was sent.

    La. C.Cr.P. arts. 333, 335–336(opens in a new tab)

  • Maine

    No commercial bail

    Recovery agents

    Maine relies on court bail commissioners and has no commercial recovery agent licensing system.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Maryland

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate state recovery license was found. Apprehensions are still subject to ordinary criminal and civil law.

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    90 days

    The surety has 90 days from the failure to appear to return the defendant, extendable to 180 days for good cause.

    Remission: A forfeiture paid within the return period must be struck if the defendant is later returned, less actual apprehension costs.

    Md. Code, Crim. Proc. § 5-208; Md. Rule 4-217(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Massachusetts

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate bounty hunter or recovery license was found; that doesn't mean every recovery activity is lawful.

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Courts may enter judgment for all or part of a forfeited recognizance. Uniform notice and surrender periods weren't found.

    M.G.L. ch. 276, § 74(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Michigan

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate recovery license was found. Bail runners don't need a producer license but can't solicit bonds; writing bonds requires a licensed, appointed producer and court approval.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    7 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Notice of the failure to appear must be served within 7 days, and the surety gets a show-cause hearing date rather than a fixed surrender period.

    Remission: With exceptions, forfeiture must be set aside within one year of judgment if the defendant is apprehended and county costs are repaid.

    MCL 765.28(opens in a new tab)

  • Minnesota

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate fugitive recovery license was found. Producer licensing and court approval for bail agents are different requirements.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Payment is due within 90 days of the forfeiture order. That is a payment deadline, not a guaranteed surrender period.

    Remission: Reinstatement petitions must be filed within 180 days of forfeiture; those filed after 90 days need chief judge approval and a penalty of at least 10%.

    Minn. Gen. R. Prac. 702; Minn. Stat. § 629.59(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Mississippi

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    A Bail Enforcement Agent license is required to assist a bail agent with apprehension, surrender or surveillance, usually with a 40-hour course, exam and fingerprints.

    Mississippi Insurance Department. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    10 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    90 days

    Notice goes out within 10 working days after judgment nisi, which is returnable in 90 days. Official current text wasn't independently confirmed.

    Miss. Code Ann. § 99-5-25

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Missouri

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Surety Recovery Agents must be 21+, U.S. citizens with a diploma or GED, complete 24 hours of approved training and pass an exam.

    Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Obligors get notice and a hearing before forfeiture judgment. Fixed statewide deadlines weren't found.

    Mo. Sup. Ct. R. 33.14(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Montana

    Bail license

    Recovery agents

    Since 2023, bounty hunters must hold the same surety producer license as bail agents.

    Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    10 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    90 days

    Notice must be mailed within 10 working days or the bond is void. The surety then has 90 days to surrender the defendant or excuse the absence.

    Mont. Code Ann. § 46-9-503(opens in a new tab)

  • Nebraska

    No commercial bail

    Recovery agents

    Nebraska has no commercial bail system and no commercial recovery license.

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Nevada

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    A Bail Enforcement Agent license is required, with qualifications, fingerprints and basic training.

    Nevada Division of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    20 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    180 days

    For larger bonds, notice goes out within 20 days; forfeiture usually takes effect 180 days after notice, with possible extensions.

    NRS 178.508–178.509(opens in a new tab)

  • New Hampshire

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Recovery agents need Department of Safety licensing, approved training and liability insurance (licensed private detectives are exempt), and must notify local police.

    New Hampshire Department of Safety. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Courts may declare forfeiture on default and proceed to recover it. Fixed deadlines weren't found.

    RSA 597:31(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • New Jersey

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    A Bounty Hunter license from the State Police is required; applicants generally must be 25+ with law enforcement or investigation experience.

    New Jersey State Police. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    A judiciary directive covers corporate surety notices, default judgments and remission. Current day counts weren't confirmed.

    Remission: Court remission guidelines exist; current percentages and deadlines weren't confirmed.

    N.J. Ct. R. 3:26-6; Directive 13-04(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • New Mexico

    Bail license

    Recovery agents

    Recovery generally falls under bail bondsman and solicitor licensing; whether independent contractors need the license wasn't confirmed.

    NM Office of Superintendent of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Current official rule text wasn't confirmed, so day counts are left blank.

    Rule 5-406 NMRA

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • New York

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Bail Enforcement Agents generally must be 25+, have experience, complete 25+ hours of training and carry a bond; they must notify local police before an apprehension.

    New York Department of State. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    CPL Article 540 governs forfeiture and remission. Day counts weren't confirmed.

    Remission: CPL 540.30 allows remission applications; the filing period wasn't confirmed.

    N.Y. CPL 540.10–540.30(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • North Carolina

    Bail license

    Recovery agents

    There's no stand-alone bounty hunter license; recovery is done by licensed bondsmen and runners.

    North Carolina Department of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    30 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Forfeiture notice must be mailed within 30 days of the failure to appear. Surrender is a ground to set aside; the final judgment period wasn't confirmed.

    N.C.G.S. §§ 15A-544.4, 15A-544.5(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • North Dakota

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate recovery license was found. Bail agents themselves need Insurance Department licensing and appointment.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    The clerk must notify the bondsman of a failure to appear; fixed day counts weren't found.

    Remission: Rule 46 allows discretionary remission after judgment.

    N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26.6-09; N.D.R.Crim.P. 46(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Ohio

    Bail license

    Recovery agents

    Recovery is limited to licensed surety bail bond agents, licensed private investigators and certain officers. A written contract and advance notice to local police are required, and the titles bounty hunter and bail enforcement agent are banned.

    Ohio Department of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    15 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Notice is mailed within 15 days of forfeiture, and the show-cause date falls 45–60 days after mailing.

    Remission: After judgment, the court may remit all or part if the accused appears, is surrendered or is rearrested.

    Ohio Rev. Code §§ 2937.36, 2937.39(opens in a new tab)

  • Oklahoma

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    CLEET issues armed and unarmed Bail Enforcer licenses requiring training, fingerprints and a surety bond.

    Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET). Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    30 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    90 days

    Notice must be mailed within 30 days of the forfeiture judgment or the bond is exonerated. The bondsman then has 90 days from receipt to return the defendant.

    59 O.S. § 1332(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Oregon

    No commercial bail

    Recovery agents

    Oregon has no commercial surety bail, so recovery licensing doesn't apply.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

  • Pennsylvania

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No stand-alone state recovery license was found; other laws still apply to investigations and apprehensions.

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    90 days

    Revocation becomes a forfeiture judgment 90 days after certified-mail service, with payment due on day 91 unless the defendant is recovered first.

    42 Pa.C.S. § 5747.1(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Rhode Island

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate bounty hunter license was found. Bondspersons register with the Superior Court.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Registered bondspersons get six months to return the fugitive before further forfeiture, followed by a diligence hearing.

    Remission: No forfeiture if the fugitive is presented within six months of the warrant.

    R.I. Gen. Laws § 12-13-16.2(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • South Carolina

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    A runner license authorizes recovery work for a bondsman, with background checks and fingerprints; bondsmen can also surrender defendants.

    South Carolina Department of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    30 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    90 days

    Both clocks run from the bench warrant: notice within 30 days, and surrender within 90 days to prevent forfeiture.

    Remission: Before execution, the court may remit all or part in the interests of justice.

    S.C. Code § 38-53-70(opens in a new tab)

  • South Dakota

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Runners are licensed separately, and the employing bondsperson needs the director's approval of the appointment.

    South Dakota Division of Insurance. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Forfeiture is enforced by motion with notice mailed promptly; no fixed day counts are set.

    Remission: The court may grant remission after judgment.

    SDCL §§ 23A-43-21 to 23A-43-24(opens in a new tab)

  • Tennessee

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No stand-alone license, but bounty hunters face criminal history limits and training rules and must show documents to local police before an apprehension.

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    180 days

    Final judgment may follow 180 days after service of the scire facias, then a 30-day enforcement delay. Official current text wasn't confirmed.

    Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-11-139

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Texas

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    There's no license called bounty hunter; paid warrant execution requires a qualifying private investigator or commissioned security officer, written surety authorization and consent before entering a home.

    Texas DPS Private Security Program. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    A judgment nisi is followed by citation and civil proceedings, so there's no single surrender period.

    Remission: A special bill of review within two years of final judgment can allow remittitur.

    Tex. Code Crim. Proc. ch. 22(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Utah

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    DOPL licenses Bail Recovery Apprentices, Recovery Agents and Enforcement Agents, with training, background checks and a surety bond.

    Utah Division of Professional Licensing. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    180 days

    The surety has 180 days from the missed appearance to produce the defendant, with up to 30 more days for good cause.

    Utah Code §§ 77-20-501, 77-20-502(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Vermont

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate recovery license was found. Bail agents need DFR licensing and Court Administrator approval.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    The surety has 14 days after service to respond to a forfeiture motion, followed by a hearing.

    Remission: A surety may ask for return of funds at any time after forfeiture.

    13 V.S.A. §§ 7560a, 7570(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Virginia

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Bail enforcement agents are licensed by DCJS and must usually notify police 24 hours before and within 60 minutes after a capture.

    Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    5 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    150 days

    Notice of default issues within 5 days. Returning the defendant within 150 days of the default finding supports dismissal.

    Va. Code § 19.2-143(opens in a new tab)

  • Washington

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    A bail bond recovery agent license is required, with training, an exam and a background check; armed work needs firearms certification.

    Washington State Department of Licensing. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    30 days
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Forfeiture and judgment happen together; notice must reach the surety within 30 days or the bond is exonerated.

    Remission: A 60-day stay and vacated judgment are available on timely production, plus further return-of-bond relief.

    RCW 10.19.090–.140(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • West Virginia

    Separate license

    Recovery agents

    Bail bond enforcers register with the State Police with fingerprints, a photo and written bondsman authorization.

    West Virginia State Police. Source(opens in a new tab)

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Day counts couldn't be confirmed from the official text.

    W. Va. Code § 62-1C-9(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court

  • Wisconsin

    No commercial bail

    Recovery agents

    Wisconsin bars paid sureties, so recovery licensing doesn't apply.

    Source(opens in a new tab)

  • Wyoming

    No specific license

    Recovery agents

    No separate state recovery license was found; other laws still apply.

    Forfeiture timeline

    Notice to surety
    Not specified
    Time to surrender or show cause
    Not specified

    Forfeiture is enforced by motion with prompt notice; fixed day counts weren't confirmed.

    Remission: Rule 46 allows discretionary remission after judgment.

    Wyo. R. Crim. P. 46(f)(opens in a new tab)

    Confirm with regulator or court